Something vs. Nothing

So they say I need to get out there and make something of myself.
Tiger.
That is to say,
Currently, I’m nothing.
And to become ‘something’
I must do an awful lot of nothing.
Making lists
Crawling through cyber space
Assigning numerical value to my values,
And telling everyone I’m everything and getting nothing in return.
My life on their terms
A series of debits and credits
Generally, nothing more than a ledger

So, what’s the bottom line?
I wish I had more time.

And so, I think I won’t be ‘something’
No accounting for my value
Or, performing on command
No balancing
For, I am something now
A big, round, beautiful zero
Ground
Neutral
Neither positive nor negative
Just being
Existing

Why not just make nothing of ourselves instead?

Leave a Reply

